<< Back to Leadership and Committees Listing


Upcoming Meetings

There are currently no meetings scheduled for this committee.

Available Meeting Documents

Date Location Time
10/11/2017   273 Social Sciences and Humanities Building   03:00 PM - 04:30 PM Summary Agenda
10/27/2017   408 Mrak Hall   01:30 PM - 03:00 PM Summary Agenda
01/30/2018   408 Mrak Hall   01:30 PM - 03:00 PM Summary Agenda
02/20/2018   408 Mrak Hall   12:00 PM - 01:30 PM Summary Agenda
06/12/2018   408 Mrak Hall   01:30 PM - 03:00 PM Summary Agenda




K. Research
  1. This committee shall consist of seven members with two officers: a chair and a vice chair.
  2. The chair of this committee shall serve as a member of the James. H. Meyer Distinguished Achievement Award selection committee.
  3. The committee shall issue the call for Federation Travel Grant Awards twice annually and determine who shall receive these awards.
  4. This committee shall issue the call for the nominations for the Federation Award for Excellence in Research. This award is given annually for recent meritorious achievements in research. The committee shall also review all nominations and select the recipient of the award. The chair will coordinate deadlines for nominations and selection with the Chair of the Excellence in Teaching Award–Selection Committee.
  5. This committee shall issue the call for the Federation Innovative Developmental Awards (IDAs). These awards are given annually to support the research endeavors of junior level Federation members in new research areas that are in need of additional support to aid in subsequent attempts to obtain extramural funding. The members of this committee, with ad hoc members as necessary (appointed via the Committee on Committees) will form a study section to review the applications for scientific merit and responsiveness to the call, and then rank the applications. Expert written scientific reviews from reviewers external to the committee will be solicited by the chair and will be considered in the ranking process. The committee will select the grants to be funded.
  6. The committee shall consider and make recommendations to the Executive Council concerning policies related to research endeavors on the Davis campus when appropriate to the responsibility and expertise of Federation members.
  7. Membership on this committee precludes nomination for the Excellence in Research Award and the Innovative Development Award during term of membership. (Am. 11/16/2009)
  8. Quorum. A quorum shall consist of four standing members, including one officer, and must be present to conduct the processes involved in giving awards (travel, research excellence, and IDA).