16th ANNUAL CALL FOR NOMINATIONS Academic Federation Award for EXCELLENCE IN RESEARCH

This annual award has been created to recognize the vital role that Academic Federation researchers play in developing the growing reputation for research at the University of California, Davis. All members of the University community (students, faculty, staff, and alumni) are invited to nominate a member of the Academic Federation for this award.

ELIGIBILITY: Academic Federation (AF) members at any rank in the following titles:

Academic Administrator Clinical Professor

Academic Coordinator Professional Researcher

Adjunct Professor Specialist (including Specialist in the AES)
Agronomist Specialist in Cooperative Extension

Project Scientist

Plus any AF member holding Principal Investigator Status.

QUALIFICATIONS: The Award is intended for **recent** meritorious achievement(s) rather than a career award. (The James H. Meyer Distinguished Achievement Award recognizes a distinguished career of achievement.) Nominees for the Excellence in Research award may be at any stage of their career.

Some examples of achievement are

- meritorious publication(s)
- innovative approach to a research topic
- significant achievement in acquiring extramural funding for research
- significant potential societal impact

NOMINATIONS: Nominations should be in the form of a letter describing the attributes and recent accomplishments of the nominee. A CV of the nominee should be included. The letter should be specific and comprehensive, yet written so that readers outside of the nominee's field can understand the impact of the accomplishments and how they have advanced the field. It should be no longer than two typewritten pages and should describe the research achievements that set the nominee apart from his or her colleagues. Nominators should write persuasively and ensure that documentary evidence to support the nomination will be available if requested by the Committee.

The nomination letter must be submitted with a nomination form, which can be downloaded here:

http://academicfederation.ucdavis.edu/awards/index.html

DEADLINE: Nominations must be received electronically by the Academic Senate Office by

5:00 pm FRIDAY, JANUARY 23th, 2015

Nominations are to be sent to Bryan Rodman at bdrodman@ucdavis.edu.
For more information, please contact Bryan by email or by phone at (530) 752-3920.

The recipient of the award will be honored at an awards reception during the 2015 spring quarter.

Past Excellence in Research Recipients

2014

Sonia Yeh Institute of Transportation Studies

2011

Marilyn Townsend Nutrition

2008

Christoph Vogel Environmental Toxicology

2005

Mari Golub SOM Internal Medicine

2002

John Reuter Environmental Science & Policy 2013

Ann Powell Plant Science

2010

Koen Van Rompay Primate Research Center

2007

Gregory Lanzar Entomology

2004

William Reisen VM Center for Vector-borne Disease Research

2001

Ramon Vogt Physics 2012

Wei Ya SOM Internal Medicine

2009

Alison Van Eenennaam Animal Science

2006

Frank Mitloehner Animal Science

2003

Peter Havel Nutrition

2000

Marilyn Olmstead Chemistry